Diocesan Diary 2023

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

 Diocesan Diary 2023

January

January 1 Sunday
Mary, The Holy Mother of God
World Day of Peace.  Mass to take place in St Mary’s Pro Cathedral, Marlborough Street at 11.00 a.m.

January 6 Friday
Epiphany
Holy Day of Obligation

January 18 – 25 Wednesday – Wednesday
Week of Prayer for Christian Unity
Inaugural Service in Christ Church Cathedral on Wednesday January 18, at 8.00 p.m.

January 29 – February 5 Sunday – Sunday
Catholic Schools Week
Theme: ‘Walking Together in Faith & Love’

February

February 2 Thursday
The Presentation of the Lord
World Day of Consecrated Life
Dublin Diocesan Celebration will take place on Saturday, March 25.

February 8 Wednesday
International Day of Prayer and Awareness against Human Trafficking

February 9 Thursday
Council of Priests meeting

February 11 Saturday
World Day of the Sick
Local Parish Celebrations

February 12 Sunday
Accord Dublin (Catholic Marriage Care Service) Collection* – proceeds to be returned to the Director, Accord, 168 Pembroke Road, Dublin 4.  D04 WR86

February 19 Sunday
Day of Prayer for Temperance

February 22 Wednesday
Ash Wednesday

February 24 Friday
Worldwide Day of Prayer for Survivors and Victims of Sexual Abuse

February 26 Sunday
Rite of Election at 3.00 p.m. in the Pro Cathedral:
Adults going through the RCIA faith journey, deemed by their parishes as ready to receive Christian initiation this Easter, are presented to the Archbishop.

March

March 6 Monday
Deanery Meetings during the week

March 17 Friday
St Patrick, Bishop, Principal Patron of Ireland
Day of Prayer for Emigrants
Chapter Mass in the Pro-Cathedral at 10.30 a.m.
Holy Day of Obligation

March 22 Wednesday
Council of Priests meeting

March 25 Saturday
Dublin Diocesan Celebration of Consecrated Life

April

April 7 Friday
Good Friday

April 9 Sunday
Easter

April 29 Saturday
Diocesan Pilgrimage to Knock
Email Queries: knockpilgrimage@dublindiocese.ie

April 30 Sunday
Day of Prayer for Vocations

May

May 7 Sunday
Collection to support lay ministry in the Archdiocese* –  Proceeds to be returned to the Finance Secretariat, 20-23 Arran Quay, Dublin 7. D07 XK85

May 11 Thursday
Council of Priests meeting

May 8 Monday
Deanery Meetings during the week

May 21 Sunday
The Ascension of the Lord
World Communications Day

May 28 Sunday
Pentecost

June

June 3 Saturday
St Kevin, Abbot
Chapter Mass in the Pro Cathedral at 10.30 a.m.

June 11 Sunday
Corpus Christi

June 11 – 15 Sunday – Thursday
Dublin Diocesan Retreat

June 16 Friday
Sacred Heart

June 18 Sunday
Matt Talbot Day

June 21 Wednesday
Council of Priests meeting

July

July 2 Sunday
Collection for the Pope and Pontifical Charities* (Peter’s Pence) – proceeds to be returned to the Finance Secretariat, 20-23 Arran Quay, Dublin 7, D07 XK85

August

August 15 Tuesday
Assumption
Holy Day of Obligation

September

September 1 Friday
World Day of Prayer for the Care of Creation

September 7 – 12 Thursday – Tuesday
Dublin Diocesan Pilgrimage to Lourdes

September 17 Sunday
Crosscare Collection – Proceeds to be returned to the Director, Crosscare, 2 St Mary’s Place North, Dublin 7, D07 Y768

September 24
World Day of Migrants and Refugees
Diocesan Safeguarding Day

October

October 1 Sunday
Day for Life

October 2 Monday
Deanery meetings during the week.

October 22 Mission Sunday
Day for Missions* – proceeds to be returned to the National Director, Pontifical Mission Societies, 64 Lower Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, D06 N2H1

November

November 1 Wednesday
All Saints
Holy Day of Obligation

November 5 Sunday
Prisoners’ Sunday

November 11 Saturday
Commemorative Mass for deceased Clergy of the diocese at 10.30 a.m. in the Pro-Cathedral, Marlboro Street.

November 12 Sunday
Share Appeal Sunday

November 14 Tuesday
Feast of St Laurence O’Toole
Chapter Mass in the Pro Cathedral at 10.30 a.m.

November 19 Sunday
World Day of the Poor

December

December 4 Monday
Deanery Meetings during the week.

December 8 Friday
The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Chapter Mass in the Pro Cathedral at 10.30 a.m.
Holy Day of Obligation

December 10 Sunday
Diocesan Collection for the Dublin Council of the Society of St Vincent de Paul* – proceeds to be returned to Regional Co-ordinator, Society of St Vincent de Paul, 91 – 92 Sean McDermott Street, Dublin 1, D01 WV38

December 25 Monday
Christmas
Holy Day of Obligation