Print Friendly, PDF & Email


17th Diocesan Council of Priests

The Council of Priests is an advisory body to the Archbishop of Dublin.  It comprises elected and nominated members of priests of the Diocese.  The Council meets for a minimum of six times a year and advises on a range of issues and gives direction on pastoral initiatives.

Deanery Representatives

Religious Priests Elected Representatives

Reverend John Callanan, S.J. Rev. Kieran O’Mahony, O.S.A.,

Very Rev. Bryan Shortall, O.F.M.Cap.

Personal Nominees

Reverend Frank Reburn

Reverend Patrick Sweeney

Retired Priests Representative

Reverend Patrick Gleeson


Metropolitan Chapter

 Dean: Most Rev. Eamonn Walsh, Auxiliary Bishop of Dublin,

Naomh Bríd, Blessington Road, Tallaght, Dublin 24.


Precentor:  Very Rev. John Canon Flaherty,

Moderator, C/o The Parish Office, Church of the Holy Child, Thatch Road, Whitehall, Dublin 9.


Chancellor: The Very Rev. Patrick Canon Fagan, P.E.,

The Presbytery,  Ballyboughal,  Co. Dublin.


Treasurer: Vacant


Archdeacon of Dublin: Venerable Archdeacon Ciaran Canon Holahan, P.E.

11 Foxrock Court, Foxrock, Dublin 18.


Archdeacon of Glendalough: Venerable Archdeacon Kevin Lyon, C.C.,

The Presbytery,  Crosschapel, Blessington, Co. Wicklow.


Cullen: Very Rev. Martin Canon Cosgrove, Moderator,

St. Mary’s Presbytery, Willbrook Road, Rathfarnham, Dublin 14.


Kilmactalway: Very Rev. James Canon Fingleton,

279 Howth Road, Raheny, Dublin 5.


Swords: Very Rev. Patrick F. Canon Carroll,

Moderator, 124 New Cabra Road, Dublin 7.


Yago: Very Rev. Damian Canon O’Reilly, Chaplain,

St. Vincent’s University Hospital, Elm Park, Dublin 4.


St. Audoen’s: Vacant.


Clonmethan:  Very Rev. Walter Canon Harris, P.E.,

151 Clonsilla Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15.


Wicklow: The Very Rev. Erill Canon O’Connor,

14 Clare Road, Drumcondra, Dublin 9.


Timothan: The Very Rev. Francis Canon McEvoy, Adm.,

Parochial House, Moyglare Road, Maynooth, Co. Kildare.


Malahidert: Vacant.


Castleknock: Very Rev. Diarmuid  Canon Connolly,

4 Summerfield Lawn, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15.


Tipper: The Very Rev. John Canon Piert, Team Assistant,

The Presbytery,  Johnstown, Arklow, Co. Wicklow.


Tassagard: The Very Rev. Maurice Canon O’Moore, P.E.,

6 Richmond Avenue, Monkstown,  Co. Dublin.


Dunlavin: Vacant


Maynooth: Very Rev. Sean Canon Smith, C.C.,

TThe Presbytery, Newtownmountkennedy, Co. Wicklow.


Howth: The Very Rev. John Canon Killeen,  C.C.,

20 Abbey Court, Abbey Road, Blackrock, Co. Dublin.


Rathmichael: Vacant


Monmahenock: Very Reverend J. Anthony Canon Gaughan, P.E.,

56 Newtownpark  Avenue, Blackrock, Co. Dublin.


Stagonilly: Very Rev. Peadar Canon Murney,

25 Thomastown Road, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin.


Tipperkevin, 1a pars: Very Rev. John Canon Fitzgibbon,  P.E.,

The Presbytery,  Chapel Road, Lusk, Co. Dublin.


Tipperkevin, 2a pars: The Very Rev. Anthony Canon Reilly, P.P.,

Parochial House, Palmerstown, Dublin 20.


Donaghmore, 1a pars: Very Rev. John Canon Mac Mahon,

Holy Family Residence, Roebuck Road, Dublin 14.


Donaghmore, 2a pars: The Rev. Micheal D. Canon Supple,

Holy Family Residence, Roebuck Road, Dublin 14.


 Diocesan Advisory Ecumenism Committee

The Dublin Diocesan Advisory Committee on Ecumenism and Inter-Religious Dialogue is an advisory body to Archbishop Diarmuid Martin.  It meets periodically to consider ideas, proposals, initiatives, and projects contributing both to the promotion of Christian Unity and Inter-Religious Dialogue in the context of the Dublin Archdiocese.

It is involved in the organisation of ecumenical events such as the week of prayer for Christian Unity, and an annual ecumenical lecture.  Two of its members are observers of the Dublin Council of Churches.  In 2002 it organised the Day of Prayer for Peace that brought together for prayer, leaders and representatives of the Churches and faith communities present in Dublin.

[/one_second]Chairman Vacant

Committee Members
Very Rev. Kieran McDermott
Reverend Damian McNeice
Mrs Anne McDonagh
Sr. Louise O’Sullivan
Very Rev. Liam Ó Cuív
Canon John Flaherty
Monsignor Peter Briscoe
Rev. Michael Shortall
Ms. Eilis O’Malley [/one_second]


College of Consultors

Most Rev. Eamonn Walsh, D.D., V.G.
Most Rev. Raymond Field, D.D., V.G.
Very Rev. Monsignor Paul Callan, V.G.
Right Rev. Monsignor Enda Lloyd, Area Episcopal Vicar
Very Rev. Enda Cunningham, Adm., Area Episcopal Vicar
Very Reverend Liam Ó Cuív, Adm., Area Episcopal Vicar
Rev. Gareth Byrne
Very Rev. Kieran McDermott, Episcopal Vicar for Evangelisation and Ecumenism.