Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Archbishop Dermot Farrell has attended the first meeting of the Task Force on a Church for the Dublin Archdiocese of Tomorrow which he has established under the title, Building Hope.


The Task Force is chaired by Very Rev Monsignor Ciaran O’Carroll, Episcopal Vicar for Clergy and Administrator of Donnybrook Parish.


Speaking to the members at the first meeting, Archbishop Farrell said: ‘I am very pleased that the Task Force reflects the diversity of the Archdiocese of Dublin, in terms of geography, expertise and the balance between lay and clerical, and male and female members. The dialogue within the Task Force will stimulate engagement with the whole diocesan family and shape an inclusive approach to a pastoral strategy appropriate to our times.’


The Archbishop said that the terms of reference which he has given to the Task Force begin with an assessment of the needs of the people of the Archdiocese emerging from COVID-19. He expects its work to support parish communities to undertake a radical renewal, looking to the future with creativity. The Archbishop stressed his expectation that the Task Force will enable the Archdiocese of Dublin to act now, so as to give effective witness and service in the years ahead.


The members of the Task Force are:

Very Rev Msgr Ciarán O’Carroll, Chair

Mr Tom Foley

Ms Marie Therese Kilmartin

Ms Rosemary Lavelle

Ms Christina Malone

Ms Laurie Mannix

Rev Dermot McCarthy

Ms Rose McGowan

Sr Bernadette McMahon DC

Very Rev Liam Canon Rigney

Very Rev Donal Roche

Very Rev Bryan Shortall OFMCap

Ms Geraldine Tallon

Very Rev Paul Thornton.


The Archbishop has appointed as Consultors to the Task Force Rt Rev Msgr John Dolan, Dr Donal Harrington and Rev Dr Michael Shortall. The secretary to the Task Force is Rev Robert Smyth.


The Archbishop has asked the Task Force to present an interim report by the end of June and to conclude its work by the end of the summer.